>OK, I don’t have a crochet stitch library, and I know that someone somewhere has already done this, but I was bored, and started to play….

I was already making some wash cloths, so I thought I would try something different. I used a sc and dc alternating. It really made for a nice texture and it’s the same on both sides. Most of the textured wash cloths I have seen are textured on one side only…that’s why I like this one!

Then I made a slight picot edging, if you can call it that. I’m very happy with it and I think I will probably make more :)

Here’s how it turned out:

It’s kind of hard to see the details, but I really like it. For those who are interested, this is how I did it (this pattern is also available as a pdf download on Ravelry):

Sunrise Sensation Wash Cloth
Free pdf pattern download on Ravelry

Materials:

US Size 7 Hook/4.5 mm
1 ball (1.5 oz) Handicrafter Cotton in Pale Yellow (#00030)
Yarn Needle

Pattern:

Ch 30

Row 1: sc in the 3rd ch from hook, *dc in the next ch, sc in the next ch* Repeat *-* across

Row 2: ch 1, *sc in the first stitch, dc in the next stitch* Repeat *-* across

Continue to alternate from sc to dc until the desired size or square.

*Note* as you work across the row, make sure that you are sc the dc’s and dc the sc’s. This is what produces the texture on both sides of the wash cloth.



Edging:

Work 1 sc in the first stitch, then 2 dc in the next stitch, 1 sc in the next stitch.

Continue around your wash cloth in this fashion, making sure to put 3 sc in each corner of the cloth to round out the edges nicely.

Fasten off and weave in ends.



*Note* I didn’t use a base edging of sc as some might do. This would make the alternating edging a little easier to do, but I really like the way this turned out so I don’t think I would do that – and hey, let’s face it, one round of edging is faster than two LOL!

I really hope you enjoy this wash cloth…it was so much fun to make!

Hooks ready and mugs up!
Melissa

Melissa and her man Al

